How much is too much?

I’ve been writing for the Trifecta Writing Challenge for a couple of months now. It gives a prompt for you to write about, one on Monday and one on Friday. It’s mostly your take on a word using the definition that they give you.  Surprisingly, to me at least, is that there are never two stories that are the same. I always thought I couldn’t write anything that hadn’t already been written before. Even when I’m doing these silly post about my kids or a TV show, anyone could write about it and come up with about the same story, is what I guess I think. Now I’m not so sure.   So that’s kind of cool.

Then I have the struggle, as every blogger does, how much is too much? I write to get things out of my head, but in the process am I violating someone else’s privacy? I started writing the challenges like they were all fiction, but most had a lot of reality thrown in. As long as it’s a “story” I can get it all out.  This week’s prompt hit me hard. I cried when I wrote it. I’m crying as I write this. I think right now I’m at a turning point. I like the writing challenges. I like using some life experiences. I like exorcising some demons. I just don’t want to offend anyone tangled up in “my” story.  There it is.  My self-created dilemma.

Anyone have any helpful wisdom to share?

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How much is too much?

  1. Yeah, I know what you’re saying. My rule of thumb is that if I think the person (be it my husband, my kids, my parents, friends) would not be comfortable with it, then I don’t write about it. There are a few things that I’ve considered, then opted not to write about, because it felt just a bit too much like a violation of privacy. Ultimately, you have to go with your gut.

Leave a Reply

