I blinked

A mother of boys, afraid to blink –

one’s seventeen and wants to be gone…

one’s eight and won’t hold my hand…

one’s five and starting school soon…

remembering my babies…a blink ago.

Trifextra: Week Sixteen Your challenge is to write anything you want, in whichever form you please, so long as your response is exactly 33 words and includes the word “mother.”

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in About the kids, Creative writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I blinked

  1. yellowlancer says:

    They grow up way too quickly but even when they leave home they are still with you. My eldest left home at seventeen and I missed him so much and now he’s 33 and a new Dad 🙂

  2. barbara says:

    my daughters are 42 and 37 with 7 babies between them aged 9 to 20. Sigh 😦

  3. Diane Turner says:

    Love this. Reminds me of my own who are all on their own yet still with me 24/7. Nice work!

  4. Mine are 9 and 12. My husband’s out of town and they are literally sleeping on each side of me right now. I cherish these moments. I know they are fleeting.

  5. karen says:

    You really capture the different stages of boyhood perfectly. My little guy is 5 too, but because we’re homeschooling, I get to claim Kindergarten to myself. ❤

  6. TikkTok says:

    My baby just turned 8 last week. I have no regrets about not sending them to school, like Karen- one of the hardest things I’ve done was send my oldest (son) to school and watching him walk down the hallway with a backpack that was nearly as big as he was. He’s 16 next month, and it’s kind of weird to have two men in the house. I guess I’m lucky there because he declared several years ago he was going to ‘home colleg’ and his mind hasn’t changed. It’s nice to have kids that aren’t eagerly waiting to ditch us. 😆 *sigh* Snapshots of time, those are…………..

    • karen says:

      Oh ha ha ha! This near killed me, reading this. Home college sounds GREAT! Also … maybe not exactly what I have in mind. Then again, I didn’t plan on homeschooling either …

      • TikkTok says:

        😆 We didn’t, either, although we knew it was a possibility. At this point, I’m pretty sure we’re going to stick with, since we at the end of year 9. We got a big giggle out of that comment, though. We had said we were just waiting for the kids to go to college so we could take a trip to Australia, to which he promptly replied, “I’m going to home college. You’ll have to take me, too, and we’ll count it as a field trip.” We were laughing, particularly because he didn’t crack a smile and was totally serious. 😆

        Besides, home college sure will save on tuition/dorm fees! 😀

  7. Yes! I’ve been looking through baby pictures this week, backing up my photos since I lost the last backup and my computer had a virus. AND OH where did those adorable babies go? Who are these barnacles put in their place.

  8. Oh, this one I completely feel.
    Thanks for participating. Please come back for the new prompt, already up.

Leave a Reply

