That grin

I still don’t know how I got him.  This man I married.  From the start, an enigma to me.  A serious-looking man-boy, whose face would transform with his grin.  I had seen him several times, he came into the place that I worked.  My co-worker drooled over him.  Everyone in town knew him.  He was a fighter, a tough guy.   He hung out at the bars in town, so,  I wouldn’t have known him.  I thought he was good-looking, too good-looking for me.  He didn’t speak much so I couldn’t tell if he was stuck-up or just shy.  But that grin did something to my insides every time.  But it was the wrong time, wrong place in time.  Flash forward several years later, my bad marriage ended and a friend with a “perfect” guy to set me up with.  I nearly fell over when she told me who.  I remembered all the meaningless encounters from years past and figured, heck, why not?  He showed up and I saw a flicker of recognition and then, that grin.  I love that grin.  We talked all night, oblivious to everyone else.  Nothing was off limits  – our past relationships woes, his giving up his partying ways, working his way up in his job, how I felt starting over at thirty.   His brown eyes, with their long tangled lashes, would look at me and make me shiver.  I hoped the feeling was mutual.  He was a hard-working man, in charge of many others, but with a voice that could speak so softly, so sweetly at times, he didn’t even need to touch me.  That night was just the beginning.  Months flew by, talking everyday, seeing each other most.  Oh, yeah, the feeling was mutual!  Then the big question…the big day…a few kids…twelve years later…his grins still do it for me.

Trifecta Writing Challenge:  Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.  You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.

enig·ma noun \i-ˈnig-mə, e-\    3: an inscrutable or mysterious person

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That grin

  1. Annabelle says:

    Great job of sharing your mad crush with us — and how great that it’s the kind that worked out!

  2. Amanda says:

    What a happy story – and the best kind of enigma!

  3. Nice story! I love the description and the power of that grin.

  4. jannatwrites says:

    This is so sweet! I love how-I-met-my-spouse stories 🙂

  5. What a great story. This is too sweet. I 🙂

  6. How fantastic that you all knew each other from before but couldn’t get together until you’d been formally introduced. Here’s to twelve times twelve (sure why not) more happy years together!!

  7. Lovely response to the prompt. He was an enigma way back then. Does he remain so? Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

