An Idiot In Illinois

I think I have a thing for British comedy.  I didn’t realize it until recently.  I think their expressions for things are just more colorful than ours.  Without all the gratuitous cursing that seems to be the norm today.   So my son’s interest in the British accent might be genetic after all.

Back in the day, when there were only about four channels – oh you remember… no remote…Clunk, click, clunk, click…channel U if you wanted a channel above 12…aaahhh, memories –  PBS used to air The Benny Hill Show, my first encounter with British comedy, complete with occasional nudity.  Apparently in other countries, butts and boobs and innuendo were not immediately rated R.   A lot has changed since then, huh?

My newest favorite airs on, of all things, the Science Channel.   Hmm, PBS and The Science Channel, my inner dork is coming out.   Anyway, the show, An Idiot Abroad.  This show makes me laugh.

                                                       Out loud. – note that there is no abbreviation, it’s that funny

I think I even pee’d a little.  I don’t even care who knows…it’s true.  There are not many things in this world, beyond reminiscing with my bestie, Amyhey, girl! – that will make me bust out laughing but this does.  Ricky Gervais, of BBC’s The Office and other comedic roles as well as the on-again-off-again, most loved/most hated host of the Golden Globes, began the show as a sort of practical joke on his unsuspecting  friend, Karl.  Karl hates to travel or be out of his comfort zone.

 I am Karl.

Ricky and another co-conspirator, Steve, send this poor man out into other countries to see sights and perform bucket list-type stunts that he would really rather not do.   The awkwardness of this man and his understandable reluctance to travel to some of these place are just hilarious.  I feel some guilt of the amount of amusement I am having at another human’s misery.   They often tell him he is going one place and either switch to another location or add an additional stop off to make him get involved in some over-the-top event.   The sheer stupidity of some of the things he is asked to do are just comical.  It has been on for 2 seasons.  The first season sent Karl out to see the Wonders of the World and the second season was devoted to doing things one’s a bucket list, not Karl’s list necessarily,  but someone else’s.   I can’t even imagine.  I hate being put on the spot to do something I don’t want/like to do, let alone on camera for the whole world to ogle.   And laugh at.

I feel your pain, Karl.

I wish I could say I’m laughing with you.

But, it’s most definitely, at you.

Bring on Season 3!

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Just plain funny and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

