Hard for me to say I’m sorry

To the friends I left behind from Jr. High:

I’m sorry I thought I was too cool to keep you.  The flashy new girlfriend I replaced you with dazzled me but was not worth losing friendships and myself.   I’ve missed too much.

Sincerely sorry,

My ashamed self

Trifecta: Week Twelve   For this week’s challenge, you have to write a letter of apology in exactly 33 words. Addresses, salutations, closings, etc. (should you wish to include them) do not count in the 33 words.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hard for me to say I’m sorry

  1. fghart says:

    Oh, the pain of those teen years! So difficult to navigate through those relationships!

  2. Amanda says:

    That’s a hard age! Interesting that the apology is addressed to only the old friends, although “ashamed self” lost both their friendships & herself.

    • KimB says:

      Yeah, it’s hard to forgive yourself sometimes. Still feel bad after almost 30 years. Always wonder what it would’ve been like staying close with those girls.

  3. barbara says:

    I have middle school aged grandkids. That age is increasingly tough.

    • KimB says:

      Glad I don’t have to go through it in the age of Facebook. Kids can’t even escape to home without the drama following them. I’m also glad to have boys.

  4. Junior High? Way to cool, Coolius Irving.

  5. Jennifer Worrell says:

    Junior High sucked, and your apology reflected that beautifully!

  6. Ah, the wisdom of ‘maturity’. Nice take. 🙂

Leave a Reply

