It’s just not my bag, baby

My oldest son mentioned to me one night that he couldn’t talk with a British accent.   Since we live in the Midwest, this was not troubling to me.   But apparently, a current trend among his friends at school is to hold entire conversations talking like they’re a bloke, from bloody ole’ Englan’.  Fascinating, I’m sure.  I told him to just start watching a little BBC America and he would pick it up in no time. A few weeks later, I was watching one of my favorite shows, Man Woman Wild (which was cancelled after only 2 seasons and I don’t know why.  Highly entertaining show about survival in  extreme conditions, by an actual man and wife team.).  The woman on the show is British, so it reminded me about my son’s dilemma.  I asked him how it was going and was given “I still can’t do it.  It’s stupid anyway.”  Which actually means, as any mother of a teenager knows,   “It’s really pissing me off that I can’t do this-everyone else can-why can’t I just do this-I really want to do this”.  Teenage mouth says opposite of teenage actual feelings, right?  Again, I thought he could get it if he just listened and absorbed it for a while.  That’s all an accent is really, just imitation of whoever you’re around.  Since a trip to London was out of the question…TV was going to have to do, or so I thought.  As I was going through my junk truly important email, I had one from, of all things, Rosetta Stone.  You know, the learning-a-foreign-language-made-easy people.  Apparently for the low, low cost of $499.99 (reduced today only from $799.99 – wow!) you can learn British as a second language.

I had no idea the need out there was so great.

I was thinking for about $30.00…

Do I make you hooorny, baby?

I could buy him the entire Austin Powers trilogy

and lock him in his room for the weekend.

I’ll bet on Monday he would come out, all “sound as a pound” and “you’re shagadelic, you’re smashing, baby“.   Ok, not perfect, – oh behave“- but you can hardly resist imitating that.  He would have his accent and he would be happy and that, my friends, is worth as least….one miiilllllion dollars!

...it's breathtaking- I highly suggest you try it.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in About the kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s just not my bag, baby

  1. kelleysbreakroom says:

    So funny! Yeah, he wants to talk like that- you’re right about how teenagers say the opposite of what they mean. Don’t women do that, too? I cannot believe Rosetta Stone has something like for “British”. For real? (Thanks for linking this up to #findingthefunny last week!)

Leave a Reply

