That first step’s a doozy…

Raising her shaky hand to knock on the open screen door, she hesitates, “I can still turn around and leave.”

She can hear light conversation inside, laughter.  It’s only a matter of time before someone sees her, cutting off the possibility of a quick escape.

Panic seizes her.  “I shouldn’t be here.  What could he possibly see in me?  Why, why , why did I let Sara talk me into this?”

A blind date.  A set-up.  Not exactly what she needs right now.  Not with a baby at home and that cheap, cheating, soon-to-be-ex husband, always looming in the background.

“He’s a good guy.  And cute.  You two would be perfect together,” was all she would say to convince me to come over tonight.  “Hmm, maybe.”

Self-doubt, her constant companion, thanks to years of mistreatment from that creep, threatens.  Shaking it off, she stiffens her spine and attempts a grin,  “He won’t win anymore” and knocks at the door.

Trifecta: Week Twenty:  This week’s word is  – cheap  a : of inferior quality or worth : tawdry, sleazy <cheap workmanship>

b : contemptible because of lack of any fine, lofty or redeeming qualities <feeling cheap>

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to That first step’s a doozy…

  1. Gina says:

    Yep! Don’t let him win!

  2. Libby says:

    Great! Felt like I was there with her at the screen door. And, your title is really good too 🙂

  3. JannatWrites says:

    I hope you continue this story, because I’d love to know how the blind date goes 🙂 So glad she didn’t let her son-to-be ex win.

  4. Glad to see she’s moving on.

  5. Thanks for linking up to Trifecta this weekend. I like the message here–a woman trying like hell to remember she’s strong. Nice work. You have a few typos here that keep this from being as solid as it could be–you’ve used “too” instead of “two” and “need” instead of “needs.” Just thought I’d mention it. Hope to see you back again soon.

  6. jesterqueen says:

    And what will she find? I hope it is joy and respect.

Leave a Reply

