One Sunday in late March

So tomorrow is the husband’s birthday.  Happy birthday, honey!  He doesn’t want anything, except maybe a card, made by the boys. Check. Tradition in our little family is that the birthday-boy (notice here it doesn’t say birthday-girl since I’m the only one and none of them bake.  For me.  Yet.   Rrriiiight.) He has requested an angel food cake with the sticky icing, like his great-grandma used to make him. Kinda check.  I have made it for him before and made the icing from scratch, but not the actual cake.  So, off I went, to buy an angel food cake mix.  WTH?  I’m used to stocking up on cake mixes when they’re on sale, 99 cents or lower.  But I was out.  And angel food is not one I usually buy anyway.  But, really? Apparently, to me, anything over $2.50 is now debatable. If I can make it cheaper, I feel I should.  Or at least I should try.  The salad dressing turned out okay.   Right?

But an actual cake…

from scratch…

for someone’s birthday…

the day before?

Well, I do have all day and I do have a couple dozen eggs just sitting there anyway.

I CAN DO THIS!

Who’s with me?

Yeah, okay.  Maybe it’s in my blood.   My mother’s cousin, Sheree, used to be the baker/cook of the family. EVERYTHING she made from scratch. I went to her house one afternoon and she had two, plastic 5-gallon buckets (like industrial paint would come in) full of empty egg shells. She raised her own chickens at that time too, for this reason, I suppose. She had been making angel food cakes and homemade noodles that day.  All day.  Since, like 4 am.  The whites of the eggs for the cakes and the yolks for the noodles. Just the sight of all the egg shells was enough to floor me. I can’t imagine what her kitchen must have looked like.  Or more correctly, what MY kitchen would’ve looked like.  I can’t remember how many cakes or how many batches of noodles she said she made that day, but it was a butt boat-load.  Surely, surely, I can make one, weensy little cake.  Remember,  it IS the thought that counts. Right, honey? Cross your collective fingers out there.   Who knows, perhaps there will even be some homemade noodles on the menu this week, eight  whole months before Thanksgiving!

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

