He wins…again

“There’s nothing cute about it,” he said. The register of his voice indicated decision more so than discussion.
She disagreed heartily and privately, staring past his head and out the window behind him. .
Her hand snaked down to smooth the flirty material of her short skirt. The excitement of purchase and girlish delight at her reflection in the mirror, fading in the aftermath of his criticism.

Trifecta: Week Nine For your prompt this week, we are giving you the first 33 words of a story. You need to complete it with 33 of your own words.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Creative writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to He wins…again

  1. Gina says:

    I know what I would do if I were her…dump that guy. It’s sad how words so can quickly burst our bubble of self esteem. Thoughtful story.

  2. gene3067 says:

    Dump the guy if he’s that caustic.

  3. barbara says:

    hmmmm – somehow I saw this as a father figure rather than a partner . . . can’t really dump the father. But, if in a relationship – yup, dump him. Unfortunately someone with that use of Power and Control over their partner deflates more than the joy of a new purchase. It makes it really hard to leave. 😦 Insightful piece.

    • KimB says:

      Yeah, I really wasn’t sure if it was her father, boyfriend or husband as I was writing. Sadly it could be any of them.

  4. natalie says:

    How many men do this? More than you know, my ex-husband for one.

  5. dunce two says:

    So sad, but so good. I’ll take you shopping!

  6. Rachel says:

    I also thought it was her father at first but if not I would dump the guy too! Great work.

  7. Men! (Sad, but true.)

  8. jesterqueen says:

    Ouch. I hate the jerk for dousing her self confidence, that’s for sure.

  9. Amelia says:

    Oh I hate that, I’ve had that happen, so disappointing.

  10. MOV says:

    keep the skirt, lose the guy.

    best,
    MOV

  11. Sandra says:

    How words can wipe out every ounce of a girl’s self-worth. How tragic. Well done!

  12. jannatwrites says:

    I just want to give her a hug. So sad…

  13. Sightsnbytes says:

    Men! what assholes they are…wait a minute, I am a man, and not an asshole….Great take on the part story, and nice blog you have as well

  14. tedstrutz says:

    Nice finish to the prompt… I felt for her.

  15. This struck a very deep chord with me. It really touched me. And I really think it was in the way that you wrote it so simply. A very moving, personal piece for me. :o)

  16. This is very like what I thought of when I read the prompt. I didn’t explore the doubt and self-esteem lows, though. You did it very well. I like it, I really like it.

  17. Libby says:

    Aw… This is good writing because I feel such empathy for her!

  18. karen says:

    The Mommy Patient is right, the simplicity in which you tell this story really brings it to life. Nicely done.

  19. Thanks so much for linking up to Trifextra. Remember, this weekend’s entries are being judged by the Trifecta community, so I hope you were able to cast your votes. (There’s still just over two hours left if not!) Winners will be announced with the Monday post. Hope to see you back then.

Leave a Reply

