It’s a Boy!

My baby had a baby this weekend.  Ok, my baby had a fake baby this weekend.  It’s for his Parenting class at school.   He got to bring home this:

It is programmed to cry at different intervals throughout the day.  And night.  To make it stop you have to insert a specific key into a slot in it’s back.  You must try them all until you find the one that magically makes the baby “coo” and giggle.

Diaper change, Feed, Burp, Attention…if only it were that easy.

Where the magic happens

 

 

 

 

He and his girlfriend named it Bentley Ryan.  Um..yuck.   All I could think of was this:

My favorite kooky English neighbor

Apparently this generation is not familiar with The Jeffersons and their “dee-luxe apartment in the sky-y-y” because I certainly couldn’t think of ANYthing else.  My son didn’t have a clue who (or what, sadly) I was talking about.  I’m pretty sure it would not have been a winning choice if  he would’ve watched a TV Land marathon.

He had to take care of it all weekend. So he dressed it in some of his old baby clothes that I had kept and put the pics on Facebook – all the things he should do with new baby.  And apparently he and his girlfriend even took it for a walk in a stroller – Good Lord.  But, of course, he had to work Friday and Saturday night.  In that case he was required to find a sitter and they had to “take care” of baby.  The “baby-mama” got to babysit on Friday evening and I got it him on Saturday.  Both nights, the baby kept waking my son up about every 2 hours.  llllove it!  All went well until Sunday morning about 4 am when the baby cried for the final time.  All was quiet after that.  Eerily quiet.  Even though it was just a fake baby it was a little creepy.   It was all dressed and sitting in the car seat (yes, they supplied him with a car seat.  I drew the line at strapping it into the car when I picked him up at work…. “Grandpa” kept an eye on him.)  My son couldn’t figure out what had happened.  There is a light on the back that comes on when the battery has been removed, but it wasn’t.  There is also a light that comes on when the baby has been “abused”  That light was not on – whew!  He contacted the teacher and she said she would check it out on Monday at school.  But all day, it was just weird.  To me anyway.  I think he was more worried about the grade he would get for the experience.  I, on the other hand, was going through a small pseudo-grieving process.  Must be the difference between males and females.  After the examination, the teacher confirmed that it was just a malfunction of his battery and – oh joy – that he would get the baby for one more day next weekend.  Guess who has to work next  weekend?  Maybe I should charge him this time.

Does anyone know the going rate for fake baby babysitters?

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in About the kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

