What the crap happened to winter?

Winter is over.

(Sniff, sniff…I know, I know,  I’m the only one crying.)

winter time backyard

Or, more correctly, it never even got started.

It has been in the 70s here…in Central Illinois…in MARCH. Now that is madness. I feel all off-balance and weird.  Like I’m waiting for something to happen.   You know, like in Nightmare on Elm Street when you didn’t want them to fall asleep, ’cause you knew Freddy was going to get them.

Not even Johnny Depp is safe

I think growing up in Illinois I’ve become used to snot-freezing, cold, crappy, sleet/snow/freezing rain winters. None of that this year. Maybe twice..and that only lasted a day because then it would be 50+ degrees. I think we got about 3-4 inches total this year. Not enough for me. All I’ve heard all winter long is how “wonderfully MILD” it’s been and “Oh isn’t it NICE” not to have to worry about the snow and cold temperatures. These will be the same people having a fit about all the bugs this summer. Those bugs wouldn’t exist if the weather had acted right.

I, for one, am still holding out for one last, blast of winter.  One nice, long week of freezing temps and ta-da, no bugs.  Oh, you’ll bitch, but you’ll thank me in July.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Outdoor stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

