You meant PHAT, right!?!

So my darling, soon-to-be eight-year-old says to me the other night, ” Mommy, some kid in my class said you were fat.” ~uncomfortable silence~  I was like, “Really?  What did you say?” ~uncomfortable silence and shrugging of his shoulders~  Wow.  Not even gonna stick up for your old mom.  Thanks.  Now I was just in his classroom on Valentine’s Day, bringing cookies and treats to these, apparently, rude, judgemental children. I will admit, I should lose some and tone up what I got, but really?  What happened to your mom being off-limits?  At least in grade school?  I know all the “Yo momma” jokes, but come on!  I’m not proud to be this weight.  And I’m only 5’3.  Any extra weight looks, and feels, too big.  Eighteen years ago I weighed 118.  I gained 50 pounds with each pregnancy and after all three pregnancies about 15 pounds from each has stuck to me!  It  very easily could have been all 50 from each, then I think I would be in more trouble.    But look, I have 3 happy, healthy boys who contributed to this smoking hot mama look.  It’s starting to go but very slowly.  My trouble is that aside from housework, excercise is not my thing, and dieting is something I have never done.  All my life up til pregnancies I have never had a weight issue like I do now.  I know shouldn’t be bothered by 7 and 8 year olds’ comments.  But I am.  After all, “out of the mouths of babes” and all that crap, right?  It certainly didn’t help matters much that at the time he said this to me I was making more cookies to send with him to class for his birthday.

Me no worry if I fat

Made me want to stop and send bags of carrots and celery instead.  Bratty little opinionated SOBs  Was it wrong to tell him to not give cookies to the one who called me fat? Yes Or to tell him that I spit on that kid’s cookie?  Yes ( But I didn’t…really, I didn’t, I swear)  I really was letting the comment get to me!   This was worse than when the Wii said I was obese (still a little pissed about that one).  You make this cute little Mii then, BAM, it plumps right up according to your true weight and height.  I just thank God each day that he didn’t give me little girls to raise. Now I just have to raise young men who don’t contribute to the problem.  I guess starting with how I deal with this, huh?  BTW, he did take cookies to school (sans spit) and I did tell him to ignore any more ignorant comments like that.  That those kids have something missing in their lives and feel the need to make others feel like something is wrong with theirs.  I told him that anyway I’m not fat, I’m cute and maybe they need to check again.  The important thing is that I love him and he loves me and nothing anyone says can change that.  So, for starters…how did I do?

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in About the kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

