WTFriday

This is a post about something I read that is making me angry.  Sick to my stomach-angry.

Maybe every Friday will be a WTFriday, about stuff that pisses me off makes me angry.

I realized that the test for Downs Syndrome existed, I never had it done for any of my pregnancies because, frankly, it wouldn’t have made a difference. At the point that they offered it, I was way too involved in my pregnancy to ever consider termination. And, really, I don’t think I could have for any reason, let alone for something like Downs.  Also, as with any test, false-positives are a possibility.  There is no way to know anything for certain, especially certain enough for a government to consider “eradicating” a part of our society based on these tests.  A sweet and innocent part of our society. These children, as all children have a place in our society. Everything and everyone is not “perfect” and everything that isn’t doesn’t make it useless to us.   Who better than these children to be a tool for teaching that.   If this is something that is even a remote possibility in our world, I am scared for our future.

Please read this post from The House That Jade Built. The blogger is from a town close to mine and I applaud her and her family for embracing their special girl and their determination to educate others about her life’s possibilities. http://housethatjadebuilt.blogspot.com/2012/02/eradicating-down-syndrome.html
Read this and share with everyone you know.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

