It’s too quiet out there.

Ever have one of those lazy Saturday mornings where you kind of wake up, snooze a little, wake up again, doze…kids come in and snuggle under the covers and make you all cozy so you fall asleep again?  I had one of those mornings this morning.  So much nicer than the regular poke in the forehead and the “Mommy…mommy…mommmmy” in the too loud whisper of a 4-year-old boy.  But I should have known something was up.  It was too quiet.  There was no fighting.  No yelling.  No crying.  No one came in to demand request breakfast and a drink.  I jerked up, fully awake.  I could hear the maniacal laugh of SpongeBob, along with a few recognizable giggles from the little boys, coming up the hallway so I knew no one had escaped been kidnapped.  When I got to the living room I was greeted with a “hi Mommy” and smiles.  Something’s going on.  I asked if anyone wanted breakfast and immediately met with no’s and maybe later’s.  Very weird.  I went to the kitchen to get a drink and saw this.

Now you see it...now you don't

Last night this was an unopened, full bag of nacho chips.  This morning it was a gourmet breakfast for two early birds.  A gradeschool boy and his preschool age brother are perfectly able to get their own breakfast.  They have access to several cereals, Pop-tarts and cereal bars in the event their waitress mother is late or otherwise occupied.  Apparently the selection was not tempting enough.  Kellogg’s needs to introduce a nacho flavored corn flake for my little morning munchers’ discriminating tastes.  I guess they get points for at least attempting to close the bag, to keep the four chips that they left behind fresh.  And I guess they do get points for not being deceitful and hiding it.  Or is that points taken away?  Does anyone have the rulebook handy?

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in About the kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s too quiet out there.

  1. mommabranam says:

    At least the chips weren’t crushed everywhere! It’s never good when kids are quiet.

Leave a Reply

