Of Bugs and Boys…

Another beautiful day, sunny, 80’s and DRY!  It’s been such a wet spring, after a long, cold winter, I just need a few days like this to just sit and enjoy.  Unfortunately, the 13-year cicadas and stir-crazy little boys are enjoying with me.  The boys have a little noise competition this year.  The cicadas are just revving up for their two weeks of, ahem…mating calls.

A crunchy bug shell and juicy bugs

It’s starting to get a bit loud but their screeching doesn’t hardly compare to the wild banshees screaming around the yard.  Free for the summer, to jump on the trampoline, act like wild men, use their “outside” voices and use the outside world as their toilet.  Ah, sweet freedom.  But not good enough for my little sweet peas.  I walked out to the backyard to the fine sight of two little hineys, one covered and one not, bounce-peeing off the back of the trampoline.  Through the safety net – hmmm, that should start smelling ripe, oh, about August.  I startled them about as much as that sight startled me and screaming giggles began.  The oldest said, in a panicked voice, “Oh, please don’t put that picture on Facebook”.  I realized then that I still had my camera on my shoulder, from getting the bug shots from above.  Damn, damn, damn, will I never learn? – Always. Be. Prepared. Instead of peeing boys, you get peeping bugs…sorry.  Watch out boys, next time momma will be ready!

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in About the kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

