The park, a potluck and other things that start with P

My cousin and her family came to visit this weekend.  She just had her first baby and brought him here to show him off.  What a sweet boy!  I forgot how wormy and wiggly babies that small could be.  A lot of my family came out to the park and we brought food and all the kids played together and it was a real nice time.  My grandparents were there and my grandpa grabbed my arm and asked how old I was.  I told him I was 40. He grinned and said that I was his first grandbaby (yes grandpa, the first and the best) and that his oldest (oh thanks for the reminder, grandpa.) and his youngest grandbabies were together today (aww, cute!).  That would be my cousin’s new baby, born just in April.   I know, technically, her baby is a great-grandbaby, but still, very cool of him to notice.  It was a beautiful day, in spite of the creepy cicada bugs all over the place.  Thirteen-year-cicadas, enough already!

One heart-stopping moment though…my little ones were playing with a tee ball and bat, hitting it, taking turns and being so cute with their cousins.  Then I blinked and my 4-year-old was gone.  I mean, he was NOWHERE.   With all those people there – 19 plus the vanishing boy – you would’ve thought someone would have seen him escape.  For the next few hours minutes, we scoured the area and thankfully, he was found!  In the ladies bathroom.  My grandmother, instead of having him just pee on a tree earlier, had (very thoughtfully – love you Grandma!) taken him to the ladies room to potty.  Well, he had to go…so he went…where he had been shown…alone this time…to the ladies room.  This kid loves to pee.  Anywhere and everywhere.  Unfortunately, he has not mastered the don’t-pull-your-pants-down-to-your-ankles technique that is required for stealth, outdoor urinating.  As he later demonstrated to everyone at the play area and swimming pool.  Yes sir, that’s my baby!  Watch your step, please.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Outdoor stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

