The story of us – Part 3

So now we’re all inside.  I think we played cards.  I know we sat around the kitchen table.  I know it was a bit awkward to be sitting there with my ex’s brother.  His wife and her friend just kept grinning at future hubby and me.  It was all very surreal, but fun.  We all talked and then people started clearing out.  The accomplice and her boyfriend went to bed, the other couple, SIL and BIL, left to go home, leaving the two of us at the table.  So we talked.  You know the talk that you talk when you first meet someone, where every detail is totally and  infinitely interesting and you never get distracted or bored.  You are so focused you don’t even realize it’s 4 am.  Oh crap, it’s 4 am.  I’m a mommy, I shouldn’t be out at 4 am.  But he’s so cute and so nice and so…I think I need to go now.   So he walks me to my car.  So sweet.  And we talk some more.  It gets later and I say I should be getting home.  We talk a little more.  And here’s where our stories differ.  He likes to tell people I attacked him and viciously kissed him, whereas the truth is it was him who did the attacking.  Awkward, actually.  I don’t think really it was more than a peck and we were both so shy that any more than that would have been really out of character.  So we said goodbye and he said he would call me and I flew home.  Literally, like I was on air.  I can’t ever remember being so stupid “in like” with anyone.  Ever.  Or since.

I waited for that sparky, shivery feeling to go away for the longest time.  I just figured it was because it was new and different.  Every time we would talk or be near each other, it was like, electric.  Sounds really corny to say that.  The feeling has lasted now for more than ten years and two more kids.  I guess you really do know when it’s the One.   Oh, and we did talk the next same day and have yet to miss a day since then.

Part 4 to follow…

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in How we met and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

