Reunions, cookouts and other nervewracking business

Tomorrow we are going to a reunion of my husband’s old classmates.  I have briefly met exactly two of them.  Their wives and all the others will be total strangers to me.  They all have, of course, known each other FOREVER!  I have a tendency to clam up or babble on when stuck into a group of people I don’t know.  Who knows what personality this gathering will summon?  But it will be good for us to get out and mingle with people.  Believe it or not, this will be our first group outing with people other than family.  We are total loners…homebodies…hermits, even.  Home is our favorite place to be.  We bought our house thinking that our big yard would be perfect for big family cookouts.  In ten years, I think we have had his family a few times and my family exactly none.  We had good intentions, but no one ever made it a priority, I guess.  One summer evening about six years ago, we were expecting my husbands’ parents, his sister and her family and his brother and his family to come for a cookout.  We even provided all the food, all they had to do was be there!  At about 15 minutes until showtime, me, my husband and our oldest son were there, sitting in chairs around the fire.  Lots of chairs.  For the lots of people we invited.  The longer we waited, the more PO’d my husband got and then I got the giggles.  Thinking how funny pathetic weird it must look to the neighbors, us sitting in the middle of our yard with all the empty chairs, music blaring, huge tables of food and no guests but ourselves.  Sad but true.  His parents finally showed after about an hour and his brother came, alone, later.  Not one of them said a thing about their late arrivals and all the preparations we had done.   Needless to say, we don’t plan many cookouts anymore.  Hosting outdoor parties must not be our thing.  I wish we had a thing. We so need a thing.

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in Outdoor stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

