The story of us – Part 2

So I’m standing at an unfamiliar door, looking through the screen.  I hear people talking but see no one.  Whew, I can make an escape with no witness to the crazy thing I was about to do – I thought to myself, excitedly.  Then, soon-to-be ex SIL pokes around a corner and spies me.  I am ushered into the living room and introduced to her girlfriend, we’ll call her Accomplice #2.  We sit and start chit-chatting, all the while I am ultra, super-tuned to any presence of  “blind date man” coming from anywhere, but I can’t hear for the humming/buzzing/roar in my ears – My god, I have no idea what these two chicks are talking about, Am I feeling nauseous? One of my arms is tingling, is that a palpitation?, I need to just go.  Ohh, is that him, no that was the stereo.    I should leave. Ugh, he’s not going to like me, why should I care, I’m not pretty enough, oh shut up, yes you are, but you really don’t need another man right now, well maybe…..oh crap, there he is.   And there he was.  He, his brother and my soon-to-be ex brother-in-law materialized.  I melted as he gave me a look, like, don’t I know you – a little grin and quirk in his eyebrow.  He had been a customer at a place I had worked 3 or 4 years previously.  (The girl I worked with had a mad crush on him and would always flirt with him.  I, at the time, had waaaay too much drama going on to give him much thought, other than agreeing with her he was cute.)  So, we did know each other, in a round about way.  Not a totally blind date…just nearsighted.

I was offered a drink and we went outside where the boys decided to build a fire.  We gathered some lawn chairs and sat to watch the show.  Boys + fire = possible explosion, missing eyebrows and/or hospital visit – always a sign of good time.  Accomplice #2 came from the house with some drinks and stuff, including bug spray since it was a warm summer night.  In July.  In Illinois.  Do I want some?  Uh, duh.  So I took it and started to spray, when my future husband said, “Let me get that for you” – Oooo, baby.  Whatever you say, you big, polite sweetie man.  He then proceeds to douse my arms, to the point of dripping.  I can tell he is totally embarrassed at his “generosity”.  I, of course, say it’s no problem and try to spread it out over the rest of my body as it glistens in the firelight.  It really was not a big deal (other than the flammability), it was kinda nice to see someone besides me showing some nerves.  We all sat for an hour or so, talking and watching the fire.  Then, the mosquitoes came and started feasting on all parts not marinated so we decide to head inside.

Part 3 coming soon…

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in How we met and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

