The story of us – Part 1

I met my hubby in the summer of 2000. We were originally supposed to meet a couple of months before that. But both of us were going through bad break-ups (with other people)and had chickened out.  But, like we always say now, things always work out the way they are supposed to.  His live-in had moved out, taking everything in the house with her, leaving only the entertainment center (too big, apparently) and the new vacuum cleaner (he insisted).  I had separated from #1 son’s father (that’s another story), taking nothing but mine and my son’s belongings.   Hmmmm… empty house, lonely guy + lonely girl with stuff and no house = match?

I had just filed for divorce a few days before, when I got another call to meet “this guy”. The matchmaker? My soon-to-be-ex sister-in-law. She just kept going on and on about how he would be perfect for me. He was  a brother to her best friend’s boyfriend. They both ganged up on me and wore me down so against my better judgement, ( I wasn’t even divorced yet…for crap’s sake) I went.   To get to this “setup”, I had to drive to a small town very near the place I had just escaped.  And I, for some stupid reason, tried to find a shortcut. Long story short – lost.  late.  embarrassed.  sweaty.  nervous.  Sounds hot, right? Anyway, found the house, argued with myself in the car, decided to leave, then went up to the door, cussing myself under my breath but trying to look cool and composed, like the newly single hot chick that I was.

Stay tuned for Part 2….

About KimB

I am a mommy to 3 wild and wonderful boys, wife to my husband. I am a stay-at-home mommy, who would like to work if the perfect job came along. Trying to find a way to make money from home so we can have more of the "wants" not just the "needs". We live in the sort of-country and have a pretty big garden, but no animals, except one small, dark, and furry dacshund.
This entry was posted in How we met and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

